Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Heroes to return for historic re-match

Figure image
Leon Lloyd has confirmed that the complete Leicester Tigers line-up from the 1996 Pilkington Cup Final will be reunited for his benefit 'rematch' against Bath at Welford Road on Sunday, March 18.

The Tigers side, who will be wearing original striped design shirts bearing letters rather than numbers, will be led out by Dean Richards who will be making his playing return to Welford Road alongside fellow legends Martin Johnson, Neil Back, John Wells, Matt Poole and Rory Underwood.
The ABC Club of Graham Rowntree, Richard Cockerill and Darren Garforth will also be reunited for the occasion.

Original referee Steve Lander has confirmed that he will return as match official.

The game, which will kick-off at 3pm on Sunday, March 18 at Welford Road, is supporting the benefit years of Lloyd and Bath full-back Matt Perry and their chosen causes - the Matt Hampson Trust, Sparks, the Professional Rugby Players' Association, Bath Community Foundation, CLIC Sargent and the Anthony Nolan Trust.

To book tickets, contact the Tigers ticket office on 08701 28 34 30, or go online at www.leicestertigers.com
Leicester Tigers line-up

A Graham Rowntree
B Richard Cockerill
C Darren Garforth
D Martin Johnson
E Matt Poole
F John Wells
G Dean Richards (captain)
H Neil Back

I Aadel Kardooni
J Niall Malone
K Rory Underwood
L Richie Robinson
M Stuart Potter
N Steve Hackney
O John Liley


Jamie Hamilton
Derek Jelley
Dorian West
Chris Tarbuck
Bill Drake-Lee
Darren Grewcock
Wayne Kilford
Andy Key