Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Home start for new faces on Monday

Figure image
Recent signings Horacio Agulla, Lee Robinson and Steve Mafi will line up for Leicester Tigers Development XV against Northampton Wanderers at Welford Road on Monday (7.30pm).

Tigers begin the defence of their Premiership Rugby ‘A’ League title with the second leg of the East Midlands derby double, just 24 hours after the Aviva Premiership Rugby opener at Franklin's Gardens.

“We’ve got a good mix of experience alongside some of the younger guys,” said Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

“The Development XV had a good season last season and we know every member of the senior squad will be needed during the course of a long year so these games are important in providing opportunities for players."

Argentina international Agulla starts at full-back, with Robinson on the wing and Mafi, an injury-dispensation signing among the forwards, starts at blindside.

Julian White provides experience in the front row and Ben Gulliver makes his first appearance in Tigers colours at lock.

Lucas Amorosino is among the replacements, with the rest of the bench to be confirmed ahead of kick-off.

The Northampton Wanderers team includes Scotland international Euan Murray. Former Tigers players Matt Cornwell and Greig Tonks return to Welford Road while fly-half Joe Ford lines-up against his brother George.

Entry to Monday’s game is free for season ticket holders and members on production of season ticket or membership cards.

Vouchers have been distributed to supporters who applied via email. Please print out the voucher and bring it to the turnstiles.

Tickets on the night are £5 adults and £1 juniors.

Leicester Tigers Development XV: Agulla, Lewington, Smith, Twelvetrees, Robinson, Ford, Harrison; Harris, Duffey, White, Markham, Gulliver, Mafi, Rawling, Pienaar.

Replacements: Clare, Bower, Bucknall, Conquest, Watson, Roussarie, Cobden, Amorosino.

Northampton Wanderers: Tonks, Diggin, Elliott, Cornwell, Sadler, Ford, Commins; Waller, Long, Murray, Eustace, Hicks, Ingle, Nutley, Easter.

Replacements: Haywood, Warren, Parkins, Sanderson, Farmer, Glynn, Hughes.