Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Irish welcome back Catt on bench

Figure image
London Irish make three changes to the team that won at Leeds in their last Guinness Premiership fixture for the home game against Leicester Tigers on Sunday.

Topsy Ojo, who was with England Saxons in Sicily last weekend, returns on the right wing, while David Paice takes over at hooker from Danie Coetzee and in the back row Steffon Armitage replaces the suspended Declan Danaher.

Former England centre Mike Catt returns to contention following a seven-week lay-off with a leg injury and is named among the replacements.

“Having crashed out of the Heineken Cup, the Tigers have a very clear focus on the Guinness Premiership and they will take some stopping,” said director of rugby Brian Smith.  “They come to Reading on the back of a good away win over Gloucester and with all of their Six Nations stars available.”

London Irish (v Leicester Tigers, Madejski Stadium, Sunday 1.15pm kick-off)

15 Peter Hewat
14 Topsy Ojo
13 Delon Armitage
12 Shane Geraghty
11 Sailosi Tagicakibau
10 Eoghan Hickey
9 Paul Hodgson
1Tonga Lea’aetoa
2 David Paice
3 Faan Rautenbach
4 Nick Kennedy
5 Bob Casey (captain)
6 Kieran Roche
7 Steffon Armitage
8 Richard Thorpe

16 Dan Murphy
17 Danie Coetzee
18 Richard Skuse
19 James Hudson
20 Phil Murphy
21 Warren Fury
22 Mike Catt