Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Johne keeps his place in churchill cup

Figure image
Johne Murphy has retained his place on the wing as Ireland A prepare to face Georgia in the Churchill Cup on Sunday in Denver, Colorado.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has continued to assess his options by making nine changes to the side that won the cup opener against Canada.

Murphy wears the No11 shirt and he will be joined in the backline by former Leicester Tigers team-mate Frank Murphy, who takes over as scrum-half from Isaac Boss.

Kidney said: "I was particularly pleased at the way in which the side kept in the game on Wednesday and showed great composure to pull through and win.

"We are continuing to try to look at players who we may not always have the opportunity to work with during the season. The game against Georgia gives us another chance to see how the players fare at this level against a side that will be certainly anxious to put in a good performance after being stung by Canada last weekend."

Ireland A v Georgia (Infinity Park, Sunday)
15 Felix Jones (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
14 Simon Keogh (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13 Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster)
12 James Downey (Northampton Saints)
11 Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
10 Niall O'Connor (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
9 Frank Murphy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
1 Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2 Dennis Fogarty (Cork Constitution/Munster)
3 Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
4 Trevor Hogan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
5 Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
6 Neil Best (Northampton Saints)
7 Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
8 John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht) Captain

16 Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
17 Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
18 Devon Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
19 Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
20 Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
21 Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster)
22 Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht)