Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Johne returns for vital Quins clash

Figure image
Tigers head coach Marcelo Loffreda has named 11 internationals in his starting line up for this Saturday's must-win clash with Harlequins at Welford Road.

Loffreda names six of the backline that featured in last weekend's match at Newcastle, with Johne Murphy returning from a two-game injury absence to claim the left-wing berth.

In the forward pack, Boris Stankovich and Mefin Davies come into the front row, with Ben Herring shaking off an injury to start on the openside flank.

Club captain Martin Corry is named at No6, with England Saxons skipper Jordan Crane selected at No8.

Having recently signed a new contract with Tigers, the league's current top try-scorer Tom Varndell will be looking to build on the brace of tries he scored last weekend as Tigers go in search of the victory that would secure qualification for next season's Heineken Cup.

A bonus-point win over Quins could also keep alive Tigers' hopes of making the Premiership play-offs, with the result between Sale Sharks and London Irish determining the club's final league placing.

"Our first goal has to be to bounce back from Sunday's disappointment at Newcastle and gain the win that would allow us to qualify for the Heineken Cup," said Loffreda. "After that, we can consider what has happened in other games and see where we finish in the league table.

"It has been a long season but we have prepared for this game as well as we possibly can and now the team must be at its best for the final time in the league at Welford Road.

"Harlequins have been in very good form and they come to Welford Road looking to finish in the top-four. We know we face a tough task but the players are ready for that and are looking forward to it. We want to finish our games at Welford Road on a high and a win would be a good way to do that."

Tigers (vs Harlequins, Saturday, May 10, Welford Road, kick-off 3pm)

15. Geordan Murphy
14. Tom Varndell
13. Dan Hipkiss
12. Aaron Mauger
11. Johne Murphy
10. Andy Goode
9. Harry Ellis

1. Boris Stankovich
2. Mefin Davies
3. Julian White
4. Marco Wentzel
5. Ben Kay
6. Martin Corry (c)
7. Ben Herring
8. Jordan Crane


16. George Chuter
17. Marcos Ayerza
18. Richard Blaze
19. Tom Croft
20. Christophe Laussucq
21. Sam Vesty
22. Ayoola Erinle