Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Club News

Leicester Tigers refresh board of directors

Leicester Tigers has announced a refresh of its board as part of a wider programme to return the Club to the top of English and European rugby.

Following the appointments of Steve Borthwick as head coach and Geordan Murphy as director of rugby, the Club is delighted that work will commence on Welford Road’s hotel and car park developments in March.

Underpinning these developments and the Club’s future plans, it is essential for the Tigers board to retain the necessary mix of skills and experience over the long term.

Accordingly, the Club has today appointed Petar Cvetkovic as a non-executive director. He will replace Lord Digby Jones as chair of the Remuneration Committee, following his recent departure.

In addition, the board has engaged Korn Ferry to find potential candidates to lead its Audit Committee following the departure of Terry Gateley. David Abell remains a member of the Audit Committee and is its interim chairman.

Cvetkovic is a lifelong fan of the Club and brings with him valuable experience as an investor, executive and non-executive director across the retail, logistics and healthcare sectors. As a result of his appointment, he will step down from his role on the committee supporting the Ben and Tom Youngs testimonial year.

Born and bred in Leicester, Cvetkovic is founder and chairman of Welford Investments, having held leadership positions at a number of national and international logistics businesses. He co-founded the leading online fashion retailer, Boohoo.com, and was formerly a non-executive director of Crawford Healthcare. He is also a patron of the Footprints Foundation and a supporter of the Matt Hampson Foundation.

Welcoming him to the Leicester Tigers board, Club Chairman, Peter Tom CBE, said: “Petar has been a big supporter of the Club and a regular visitor to Welford Road for many years. He knows the Club well and we look forward to benefiting from his experience.”

As a result of the appointment, the Club’s non-executive directors will comprise: Petar Cvetkovic, David Abell, Peter Aldis, Ben Kay MBE, Tom Scott and Rory Underwood MBE.

Petar Cvetkovic said: “I was 11 years old when I was first introduced to the Tigers by my Gateway School rugby master, the great Jim Keadie. Since then, I have been a passionate supporter of the Club. It is an honour to work with England’s greatest club and I look forward to playing my part in returning Tigers to the top of English and European rugby.”