Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Line-ups for Leicester Tigers versus Leinster

Figure image
Summer signings George Skivington and Thomas Waldrom will make their first appearance at Welford Road in Friday's match against Leinster.

Leicester Tigers name a starting line-up featuring 10 senior internationals, with former Wasps lock Skivington and ex-Crusaders back-rower Waldrom among the forward pack.

Geordan Murphy leads out the team which shows just a couple of changes from the line-up that started the first leg of an Anglo-Irish double with victory over Munster last weekend, with Marcos Ayerza and Martin Castrogiovanni coming into the front row and Craig Newby joining the back row.

“We’ve had a pretty tough week physically, but we’ve not got much time left before we open the season at Northampton Saints and we need to make sure we're fit and ready,” said Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

Rob Hawkins, a hooker signed from Bath, will be hoping to make his first appearance of the pre-season as he is named among the replacements alongside fellow newcomers Horacio Agulla and Lee Robinson.

Leinster include Scotland international Nathan Hines in the second row, plus fellow British & Irish Lions tourist Luke Fitzgerald in their line-up.

Entry to Friday’s match (7.30pm kick-off) is free for season ticket holders on production of their season ticket card. Tickets are still available for all other supporters, price £10 adults, £5 juniors, £25 family (2 adults, 2 children). The ticket office is open 8.30-5pm weekdays, or phone the hotline on 0844 856 1880 or book online.

Leicester Tigers
15 Geordan Murphy (c)
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Matt Smith
12 Anthony Allen
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Toby Flood
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Calum Green
5 George Skivington
6 Craig Newby
7 Ben Woods
8 Thomas Waldrom

Replacements (from)
Boris Stankovich
Rob Hawkins
Dan Cole
Dave Markham
Ed Slater
Ben Pienaar
Tom Armes
James Grindal
Jeremy Staunton
Lee Robinson
Manu Tuilagi
Dan Hipkiss
Horacio Agulla
Billy Twelvetreees

Leinster: 15 Luke Fitzgerald, 14 David Kearney, 13 Eoin O’Malley, 12 Fergus McFadden, 11 Niall Morris, 10 Ian McKinley, 9 Isaac Boss; 1 Heinke van der Merwe, 2 Richardt Strauss, 3 Simon Shawe, 4 Nathan Hines, 5 Devin Toner, 6 Dominic Ryan, 7 Sean O’Brien (c), 8 Stephen Keogh.
Replacements: Jason Harris-Wright, Jack McGrath, Stewart Maguire, Ed O’Donoghue, Paul Ryan, Paul O’Donohoe, Isa Nacewa, Michael Keating, Mariano Galarza, Eoin Sheriff, Ian Madigan, Eamonn Sheridan