Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

LV= Cup team news

Figure image
Sebastian de Chaves will captain Leicester Tigers for the first time in Saturday's LV= Cup match against Cardiff Blues.Second-rower de Chaves is part of a forward pack showing three changes to the starting line-up from last week’s Round 3 win over Northampton Saints.   Neil Briggs comes in at hooker, Jack Whetton gains his first start in the second row and Harry Thacker starts at openside in place of Robert Barbieri who is on international duty with Italy at the start of the Six Nations Championship.   David Mele comes in at scrum-half in the only change to the backline, with Sam Harrison among the replacements.   Both teams go into Saturday’s game with three wins from three games so far and chasing a place in the semi-finals. Tigers need at least a point to finish top of Pool 3, while an away win would secure home advantage in the last four.   This match is not scheduled for live TV coverage but you can keep in touch with all of the action on the Tigers social media outlets and the club website.   Leicester Tigers (v Cardiff Blues, away, Saturday 2.30pm) 15 Tommy Bell 14 Niall Morris  13 George Catchpole 12 Jack Roberts 11 Adam Thompstone 10 Owen Williams 9 David Mele 1 Michele Rizzo 2 Neil Briggs 3 Fraser Balmain 4 Jack Whetton 5 Sebastian De Chaves (c) 6 Jamie Gibson 7 Harry Thacker 8 Laurence Pearce Replacements 16 George Nairn 17 Tom Bristow 18 Logovi’i Mulipola 19 Greg Peterson 20 Tom Price 21 Sam Harrison 22 Matt Smith 23 Terrence Hepetema Cardiff Blues: 15 Geraint Walsh, 14 Owen Jenkins, 13 Joaquin Tuculet, 12 Adam Thomas, 11 Lucas Amorosino, 10 Gareth Davies, 9 Tavis Knoyle; 1 Thomas Davies, 2 Rhys Williams, 3 Craig Mitchell, 4 Miles Normandale, 5 Lou Reed, 6 Macauley Cook, 7 Ellis Jenkins (c), 8 James Sheekey. Replacements: 16 Ethan Lewis, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Taufa'ao Filise, 19 Ben Roach, 20 Craig Lodge, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Jack Phillips