Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

LV= Cup team news: Harlequins v Tigers

Figure image
Flanker Ben Woods will captain Leicester Tigers in the third round of the LV= Cup against Harlequins at The Stoop on Saturday (3.00pm).

Woods, Niall Morris, Scott Hamilton, Boris Stankovich, Graham Kitchener and Ben Pienbaar are among the senior players named in the starting XV.

George Ford and Sam Harrison team up at half-back and Andrew Forsyth, who played in the opening two rounds of this season’s Heineken Cup before suffering an ankle injury in the home win over Ulster, returns to the backline.

Dante Mama and Alex Lewington have both gained Aviva Premiership ‘A’ League experience this season, with winger Lewington scoring a hat-trick of tries in the win over Leeds Carnegie in that competition a week ago.

Jimmy Stevens, who made his senior debut as a replacement in the European win over Aironi last Saturday, is joined in the front row by Samoan prop Logoviii Mulipola and Stankovich, while Calum Green returns from a back injury to make his first appearance of the season in the second row.

The replacements bench includes young lock Joe Cain and flanker James Doyle, as well as the experience of George Chuter, James Grindal, Jeremy Staunton and Matt Smith.

Tigers return to home ground for Round 4 in the LV= Cup with a match against Newcastle Falcons next Saturday (3.00pm). Tickets are available now.

Leicester Tigers vs Harlequins (The Stoop, Saturday January 28, 3.00pm)
15 Niall Morris
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Dante Mama
12 Andy Forsyth
11 Alex Lewington
10 George Ford
9 Sam Harrison
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Jimmy Stevens
3 Logoviii Mulipola
4 Calum Green
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Ben Woods (c)
7 Tom Armes
8 Ben Pienaar

16 George Chuter
17 Ryan Bower
18 Jonny Harris
19 Joe Cain
20 James Doyle
21 James Grindal
22 Jeremy Staunton
23 Matt Smith

15 Ross Chisholm
14 Seb Stegmann
13 Ben Urdapilleta
12 Tom Casson
11 Tom Williams
10 Rory Clegg
9 Richard Bolt
1 Mark Lambert
2 Rob Buchanan
3 Tim Fairbrother
4 Pete Browne
5 Charlie Matthews
6 Luke Wallace
7 Will Skinner (c)
8 Tom Guest

16 Nic Mayhew
17 Daryl Marfo
18 Will Collier
19 Tom Vallejos
20 Chris York
21 Sam Stuart
22 Charlie Walker
23 Ollie Lindsay-Hague