Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

LV= Cup team news: Saracens v Tigers

Figure image
Matt Cornwell will lead Leicester Tigers in the opening LV= Cup fixture of the season, away to Saracens on Friday evening.

The 27-year-old makes his first senior appearance since his return to Tigers in the summer and captains Cup holders Tigers in the fixture to be played at Bedford’s Goldington Road ground.

Micky Young returns for his first game since the opening day of the season and the backline also includes Academy prospect Henry Purdy on the wing, and Andy Forsyth making his first appearance of the campaign at centre.

Kieran Brookes is included in the front row, while French flanker Lucas Guillaume makes his senior debut for Tigers alongside fellow debutant Michael Noone and Richard Thorpe in the back row.

Sam Harrison, George Ford and Mathew Tait are included among the replacements.

Match tickets are available from Bedford Blues and will be sold at the gate on Friday. The opening home game in the competition is against London Irish on Sunday, November 18 (3pm).

Leicester Tigers (vs Saracens, Goldington Road, Friday 7.45pm)
15 Niall Morris
14 Henry Purdy
13 Andy Forsyth
12 Andrew Symons
11 Alex Lewington
10 Matt Cornwell (c)
9 Micky Young
1 Jonny Harris
2 Jimmy Stevens
3 Kieran Brookes
4 Rob Andrew
5 Joe Cain
6 Lucas Guillaume
7 Richard Thorpe
8 Michael Noone

16 Harry Thacker
17 Fraser Balmain
18 Ryan Bower
19 George Oliver
20 Tom Price
21 Sam Harrison
22 George Ford
23 Mathew Tait

15 Ben Ransom
14 Joe Maddock
13 Duncan Taylor
12 Sam Stanley
11 James Short
10 Nils Mordt (c)
9 Ben Spencer
1 Nick Auterac
2 Jamie George
3 Petrus du Plessis
4 George Kruis
5 Alistair Hargreaves
6 Nick Fenton-Wells
7 Andy Saull
8 Jono Ross

16 Max Crumpton
17 John Smit
18 Lorenzo Romano
19 Eoin Sheriff
20 Matt Hankin
21 Luke Baldwin
22 Nick Tompkins
23 Nathan Earle