Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

LV= Cup team news: Tigers vs Wasps

Figure image
Tom Croft runs out at Welford Road for the first time in 10 months when Leicester Tigers host London Wasps in the LV= Cup this Saturday (3pm).

Tigers back-rower Croft made his return from a neck injury in the league win at Worcester earlier this month and has been named in the starting line-up for this weekend.

Vereniki Goneva and Boris Stankovich both return from injury and are included in the Tigers team.

Brett Deacon will lead the team as captain, Dan Bowden starts at fly-half with Toby Flood and George Ford on international duty, and Matt Cornwell starts his first senior game at Welford Road since his return to the club last summer.

Academy products Tom Price and Harry Wells, both members of the England Under-20s squad this season, are in line for their club debuts, with Price selected in the second row and Wells among the replacements.

All matches in the LV= Cup pool stages are included in Tigers season tickets.

Tickets for Saturday’s match are available now from the Tigers ticket office. Phone 0844 856 1880 or call in at Welford Road to book your place (open until 5pm Friday and from 9am matchday).

Saturday’s match will be followed by a National Academy League fixture between Leicester Tigers Under-18s and Gloucester Rugby Under-18s at Welford Road. Both teams are unbeaten in league action so far. Kick-off is at 5.30pm.

Saturday’s LV= Cup game is not scheduled for any live TV coverage.

Leicester Tigers (v London Wasps, Welford Road, Saturday 3pm)
15 Mathew Tait
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Andy Forsyth
12 Matt Cornwell
11 Vereniki Goneva
10 Dan Bowden
9 Sam Harrison
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Rob Hawkins
3 Logovi’i Mulipola
4 Rob Andrew
5 Tom Price
6 Tom Croft
7 Richard Thorpe
8 Brett Deacon (c)

16 George Chuter
17 Jonny Harris
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Harry Wells
20 Michael Noone
21 Micky Young
22 Andy Symons
23 Adam Thompstone

London Wasps
15 Jack Wallace
14 Tom Howe
13 Chris Mayor
12 Charlie Hayter
11 Jonah Holmes
10 Tommy Bell
9 Stuart Commins
1 Tim Payne
2 Nathan Morris
3 Will Taylor
4 James Cannon
5 Will Rowlands
6 Tinus Du Plessis
7 Matt Everard
8 Sam Jones (c)

16 T Rhys Thomas
17 Simon McIntyre
18 Harry Williams
19 Dave Hughes
20 James Harris
21 Will Robinson
22 Chris Bell
23 Hugo Southwell