Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Manu on awards shortlist

Figure image
Manu Tuilagi has been nominated in the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2011.

Leicester Tigers and England centre Tuilagi has been shortlisted for the Brian Clough Breakthrough Award.

Tuilagi faces competition from Derby County footballer Mark O’Brian and Nottinghamshire cricketer Alex Hales.

The Awards take place at Loughborough University on Thursday, November 17 and will be hosted by John Inverdale.

Sports Personality of the Year
Rebecca Adlington – swimming
Stuart Broad – cricket
Graeme Swann – cricket

Disabled Sports Personality of the Year
Dan Greaves – athletics
Sam Hynd – swimming
Richard Whitehead – athletics

Junior Sportsperson of the Year
Lucy Garner – cycling
Molly Renshaw – swimming
Kyle Ryde – motor sport

Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Oliver Hynd – swimming
Jacob Parker – swimming
Maddie Thompson – wheelchair basketball

Team of the Year
Beeston Men’s Hockey Club
Leicestershire Foxes (cricket)
Nottingham Panthers (ice hockey)

Football Achievement of the Year
Alfreton Town
Martin Allen – Notts County
Mark O’Brien – Derby County

Coach/Director of the Year
Dave Brailsford – cycling
Bill Furniss – swimming
Graham Griffiths – hockey

Brian Clough Breakthrough Award
Mark O’Brian – Derby County FC
Alex Hales – Notts County Cricket Club
Manu Tuilagi – Leicester Tigers