Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Maori squad named for Tigers trip

Figure image
The Maori All Blacks have named their squad for the UK tour, which opens with a match against Leicester Tigers on Tuesday, November 13.

The 26-strong squad will be led by back-rower Tanerau Latimer, with other All Blacks Test caps including locks Jason Eaton and Jarrad Hoeata, and hooker Hika Elliot.

Among the bright young talent heading to the UK are half-backs Jamison Gibson-Park and Frae Wilson, wing Declan O’Donnell, flanker Shane Christie and versatile back Andre Taylor who has enjoyed an eye-catching season in Super 15 rugby.

Former Tigers centre Daryl Gibson is a member of the Maori coaching team for the tour.

Head coach Jamie Joseph said he was delighted with the calibre of his team.

"The Maori All Blacks are a unique team and we feel very privileged to be part of this special campaign,” he said.

"We have selected Tanerau as captain for his perfect mix of talent and leadership on and off the field.

"We are very excited about this tour to England as the programme offers an excellent opportunity to display the depth of talent we have.

"Taking on the Leicester Tigers and the Championship XV will be a challenge for us, especially knowing that the home advantage will be a huge factor for them.

"We are looking forward to the challenge and I know these young men selected today will rise to the occasion."

New Zealand Maori Rugby Board chairman Wayne Peters announced the squad and revealed two sponsorship deals for the re-named Maori All Blacks.

The country’s largest Maori-owned fisheries company, Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd, has secured naming rights for this tour and two subsequent international tours, and BNZ will sponsor the team for three years.

Peters said: "We are very proud to announce the first squad for the re-named Maori All Blacks (formerly New Zealand Maori). This is a very special team that has a unique place in our rugby and cultural history."

Tickets for the Tigers versus Maori match are available now from the Tigers ticket office. Phone 0844 856 1880, call in at Welford Road or book online. Please note this match is not included in a Tigers season ticket but special prices apply for season ticket holders.

The squad for the Aoteaora Fisheries Maori All Blacks European Tour is:


Hika Elliot - Ngati Awa - Hawke's Bay
Quentin MacDonald - Rangitane - Tasman

Ben May - Ngati Maniapoto - Waikato
Bronson Murray - Ngapuhi - Bay of Plenty
Ben Afeaki - Ngati Awa - North Harbour
Jacob Ellison - Ngati Porou - Otago

Jarrad Hoeata - Ngati Kahungunu - Taranaki
Jason Eaton - Ngati Apa - Taranaki
Romana Graham - Ngati Awa - Waikato
Ross Filipo - Muaupoko - Wellington

Loose forwards
Nick Crosswell - Ngati Porou - Manawatu
Tanerau Latimer (capt) - Te Arawa - Bay of Plenty
Elliot Dixon - Ngapuhi - Southland
Karl Lowe - Ngati Kahungunu - Hawke's Bay
Shane Christie - Ngati Kura - Tasman


Jamison Gibson-Park - Ngati Porou/Nga Tai - Taranaki
Frae Wilson - Ngati Rangi/Te Ati Awa - Wellington

First five-eighth
Willie Ripia - Ngai Tuhoe - Bay of Plenty

Midfield backs
Tim Bateman - Ngai Tahu - Wellington
Jackson Willison - Ngati Mahuta - Waikato
Charles Ngatai - Ngati Porou/Te Whanau-a-Apanui - Wellington

Outside backs
Declan O'Donnell - Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Porou - Waikato
Andre Taylor - Ngati Tuwharetoa/Ngati Kahungunu - Taranaki
Kurt Baker - Ngapuhi - Taranaki
Trent Renata - Ngati Maru - Waikato
Kade Poki - Te Ati Awa - Southland