Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Mauger returns for Tigers trip to Kingsholm

Figure image
Leicester Tigers head coach Richard Cockerill makes three changes to his starting line-up for Friday's Guinness Premiership trip to Gloucester.

After last week’s win over Newport Gwent Dragons in the LV= Cup, Aaron Mauger and Johne Murphy return to the backline and Brett Deacon takes the No6 shirt for the Kingsholm contest.

Mauger was rested last week and Murphy was involved in the Ireland A squad against Tonga, while Deacon returns after a taking a knock in the opening stages of the win over South Africa a fortnight ago.

Ben Kay, Jordan Crane and George Chuter are included in the 23 after their return from England training and wing Lote Tuqiri makes his first appearance in the Guinness Premiership.

Anthony Allen returns to play at Kingsholm for the first time since leaving Gloucester in the summer and hooker Mefin Davies also lines up against his former club.

“Our performance was a bit up and down against the Dragons last week,” said Cockerill.

“We pride ourselves on being more difficult to play against than that, so we are looking for an improvement.

“Gloucester have good players across the board and we know we will have to execute our own game well and match them physically.

“We’re into a key part of the season with Gloucester, Leeds and Wasps in the Guinness Premiership and then into the back-to-back Heineken Cup games.”

Tickets for tomorrow's match are still available in all areas of the stadium. Prices start from £11 juniors, £23 adults standing and £13 juniors, £26 adult seating. Call the Gloucester ticket hotline on 0871 871 8781 option 2.

Tigers return to home ground for the match against Leeds Carnegie on Saturday, November 28 (3pm). Tickets are on sale now. Phone 0844 856 1880, book online or call in at Welford Road.

Leicester Tigers (v Gloucester Rugby, Kingsholm, Friday 7.45pm)
15 Scott Hamilton
14 Lote Tuqiri
13 Anthony Allen
12 Aaron Mauger (c)
11 Johne Murphy
10 Jeremy Staunton
9 Ben Youngs
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Mefin Davies
3 Dan Cole
4 Geoff Parling
5 Ben Kay
6 Brett Deacon
7 Ben Pienaar
8 Jordan Crane

16 George Chuter
17 Robbie Harris
18 Jonny Harris
19 Calum Green
20 Dan Hemingway
21 James Grindal
22 Toby Flood
23 Matt Smith