Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

May hits landmark in Cup quarter-final

Leicester Tigers wing Jonny May will make his 50th Test appearance for England in Saturday’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final against Australia.

May, 29, was named England Player of the Year in 2018/19 and is playing in his second World Cup tournament.

On handing May his landmark cap, head coach Eddie Jones said: “It is a great achievement and an honour for him and his family. Everyone in the team is really pleased for him.

“I think this World Cup has really shown how hard he has worked at his game. He has come back from a significant knee injury to be close to the fastest winger, if not the fastest winger in the world, and has the ability to score tries from any situation.”

Tigers colleagues Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs are included alongside May in the England backline.

George Ford joins Dan Cole among the replacements after Jones opted to move Owen Farrell to fly-half and bring in Henry Slade at centre.

Billy Vunipola starts at No8 after recovery from injury and his brother Mako makes his first start in the tournament at prop.

Former Tigers centre Matt Toomua is named in the Wallabies matchday squad.

Jones said: “We know how well we can play, it’s about us playing to our strengths and trying to take away from what Australia want.

“Australia are a clever team, they will have some specific attacking strategies to play against us so we need to have a great situational awareness. We need to defend with brutality and when we have the ball we need play on top of them.”

There is live coverage on ITV. You can follow all of the action from the game – and the second match between New Zealand and Ireland – at Welford Road’s Kegs and Eggs event on Saturday morning. Entry is free. Click here for more details.

England (v Australia, Oita Stadium, Saturday 4.15pm local time, 8.15am UK time).

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 36 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 39 caps)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 37 caps)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 49 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 76 caps) C
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 92 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 55 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 42 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 28 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 31 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 78 caps)
6 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 16 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 48 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 65 caps)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 92 caps)
19 George Kruis (Saracens, 38 caps)
20 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
21 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 7 caps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 62 caps)
23 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 44 caps)


15 Kurtley Beale (91 caps)
14 Reece Hodge (38 caps)
13 Jordan Petaia (2 caps)
12 Samu Kerevi (32 caps)
11 Marika Koroibete (27 caps)
10 Christian Lealiifano (25 caps)
9 Will Genia (109 caps)
1 Scott Sio (62 caps)
2 Tolu Latu (18 caps)
3 Allan Alaalatoa (36 caps)
4 Izack Rodda (24 caps)
5 Rory Arnold (25 caps)
6 David Pocock (82 caps)
7 Michael Hooper (c) (98 caps)
8 Isi Naisarani (7 caps)

16 Jordan Uelese (8 caps)
17 James Slipper (95 caps)
18 Taniela Tupou (18 caps)
19 Adam Coleman (37 caps)
20 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (20 caps)
21 Nic White (30 caps)
22 Matt To’omua (51 caps)
23 James O’Connor (51 caps)