Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Moody captains England for Australia Test

Figure image
Lewis Moody will captain England in the first test against Australia on Saturday (11am BST).

Moody is joined in the matchday squad by five Leicester Tigers teammates for the game at the Subiaco Oval, Perth.

Dan Cole starts at tighthead, Tom Croft, who missed the Six Nations with injury, returns to the side at six while Toby Flood gets the nod at fly-half. George Chuter and Ben Youngs are named on the bench.

England team manager Martin Johnson gives a debut to Bath Rugby centre Shontayne Hape while Brive hooker Steve Thompson wins his 56th cap.

England (vs Australia, First Test, Saturday, June 12, 11am BST, Subiaco Oval, Perth)
15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
14 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
13 Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby)
12 Shontayne Hape (Bath Rugby)
11 Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
10 Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Tim Payne (London Wasps)
2 Steve Thompson (CA Brive)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)
6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
7 Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers) (C)
8 Nick Easter (Harlequins)

16 George Chuter (Leicester Tigers)
17 David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
18 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
19 James Haskell (Stade Francais)
20 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
21 Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
22 Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)