Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

New signing McGuigan in Saxons squad

Figure image
Leicester Tigers fans could get a look at new signing George McGuigan after he was named in the England Saxons squad to face South Africa A.

McGuigan, who moves to Welford Road from Newcastle Falcons this summer, is among the replacements for the game on Friday (kick off 6.10pm BST), which is live on Sky Sports 3.
The hooker will make his Saxons debut if he comes off the bench in Bloemfontein’s Free State Stadium.

The 23-year-old will report for pre-season training this summer alongside other new recruits including Matt Toomua, JP Pietersen, Luke Hamilton and Pat Cilliers.
Saxons head coach Ali Hepher said: “We’re really pleased with how the group is progressing together. We’re developing the players, which is key to this tour, and we now want to see how they perform on the international stage.”
The Saxons play South Africa A twice, with the second game taking place at Outeniqua Park in George on Friday 17 June (KO 6.10pm BST).
England Saxons
15 Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)
14 Alex Lewington (London Irish)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap)
11 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby, 1 senior England cap)
10 Danny Cipriani (Wasps, 14 senior England caps)
9 Dan Robson (Wasps)
1 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)
2 Tommy Taylor (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)
3 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 16 senior England caps)
4 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 23 senior England caps) (C)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6 Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs)
7 Matt Kvesic (Gloucester, 3 senior England caps)
8 Sam Jones (Wasps)
16 George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons)

17 Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks)
18 Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps)
19 Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs)
20 Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)
22 Sam James (Sale Sharks)
23 Christian Wade (Wasps, 1 senior England cap)