Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Owen ready for Under-20s Final

Figure image
Leicester Tigers flanker Will Owen is preparing for the biggest game of his career so far as he lines up for England in the World Rugby Under-20 Championship Final against New Zealand this weekend.Owen retains the No7 shirt as England named an unchanged team for the match at Cremona Stadium in Italy as they target a third consecutive title.   He said: “It was a massive win for us against South Africa in the semi-final but we need to focus on New Zealand now. They are a quality side and will be hard to break down.”   Kick-off is at 7.30pm UK time, and the game is shown live on BT Sport.   Head coach Jon Callard said: “The squad performed heroically in the semi-final and they deserve another opportunity.    “I am grateful that I have 28 enthusiastic and energised players who want to give this their best shot whether on the field or by supporting the preparations of those who are.”   England have not faced New Zealand since the 2013 semi-final in France when they recorded a 33-21 victory to progress into the final against Wales.   “New Zealand are a very exciting and challenging proposition,” added Callard. “We need to be strong in the set-piece and smart in our game management.  I’m hoping it will be a great advert for the game as the boys look to show that they are the best in their generation at this particular time.”   England Under-20s 15 Aaron Morris (Saracens)  14 George Perkins (Saracens)  13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)  12 Max Clark (Bath Rugby)  11 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)  10. Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby)  9 James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 1 Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby)  2 Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie)   3 Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie)  4 Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons)  5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)(c)  6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton)  7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers)  8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)   Replacements 16 Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs)  17 Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins)  18 Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks)  19 Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins)  20 Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs)  21 Will Homer (Bath Rugby)  22 Lloyd Evans (Gloucester)  23 Piers O’Conor (Wasps)