Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Players pick their seasonal winners

George Ford has been named Players’ Player of the Year by his Leicester Tigers team-mates.

England international fly-half Ford, in the second season of his second spell at the club, topped the voting of his playing colleagues and was honoured at Welford Road on Tuesday evening, with Dan Cole and Will Spencer the other names in the top three.

Receiving his award from club captain Tom Youngs, Ford said: “The best thing you can do for the team is to play as well as you can and that is what I try to do. I have huge belief in the club, I really do, and believe we will get back to where we belong.”

Scrum-half Ben White was the choice of his team-mates as Young Player of the Year, ahead of Jake Kerr and Jordan Olowofela.

White, who captained England Under-20s during his breakthrough season in 2018/19 and has made more than 20 first-team appearances this season, said: “It’s an honour whenever you get a chance to pull on the Tigers shirt and it means a lot to have players in your team, players that you are with in training every day and on the pitch, to vote for you.”

Jonny May’s score in the win at Newcastle Falcons during April was chosen by sponsors as the Try of the Season.

Tigers chief executive Simon Cohen, welcoming player sponsors and 1880 Club members to the awards presentation dinner at Welford Road, said: “We are always very grateful for your financial support because it is so very important to us. But we are also very grateful as a club for your emotional support. The wellbeing of the club depends on that.”

The Supporters’ Awards evening is at Welford Road on Tuesday, May 14 and tickets are still available, price £60 for season ticket holders, £80 for all other supporters including three-course meal with a Tiger on each table, presentations, interviews and video highlights of the season. Book in person at the Welford Road ticket office, phone 0116 319 8888 or online.

Look out for the Supporters’ Awards shortlist and your opportunity to vote on the club website on Thursday this week.