Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Polota-Nau named in Barbarians squad

Tatafu Polota-Nau at Welford Road.
Tatafu Polota-Nau at Welford Road.

Leicester Tigers hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau has been named in the Barbarian FC squad for their Quilter Cup clash with England at Twickenham.

The Australia international was named on Friday afternoon via the Barbarian FC Twitter account as one of seventeen players for the friendly fixture on Sunday, May 27.

The squad will be captained by Grand Slam winning Ireland back Bundee Aki and includes Greig Laidlaw, Charles Piutau, John Afoa, Victor Vito and former Leicester Tigers hooker Benjamin Kayser.

Australia head coach Michael Cheika recently confirmed that Polota-Nau would be rested for the Wallabies upcoming three-match Test series against the Six Nations champions, Ireland, after a run of 15 months straight rugby action which began at the beginning of the 2017 Super Rugby season in February of last year and finished with Tigers final fixture of the 2017/18 campaign against Sale Sharks on Saturday, May 5.

Polota-Nau joined Tigers following Australia's Autumn Tour of the northern hemisphere and featured in the Twickenham fixture between England and Australia, up against future team mates Ben Youngs, Dan Cole, George Ford and Jonny May.

Since arriving in the East Midlands, the 82 Test capped Wallaby has made 16 appearances in a dual-role alongside club-captain Tom Youngs at hooker for Matt O'Connor's Leicester side.

Polota-Nau will return alongside his Tigers team mates in June ahead of the 2018/19 Aviva Premiership and European Champions Cup campaigns.



Niyi Adeolokun (Connacht & Ireland)

Chris Ashton (Toulon & England)

Malakai Fekitoa (Toulon & New Zealand)

Greig Laidlaw (Clermont & Scotland)

Luke McAlister (Toulon & New Zealand)

Josh Matavesi (Newcastle Falcons & Fiji)

Semi Radradra (Toulon)

Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors & Scotland)

Josua Tuisova (Toulon & Fiji)

Rhodri Williams (Bristol & Wales)


John Afoa (Gloucester & New Zealand)

Denis Buckley (Connacht)

Ultan Dillane (Connacht & Ireland)

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon & Argentina)

Ramiro Herrera (Stade Francais & Argentina)

Benjamin Kayser (Clermont & France)

Nili Latu (Newcastle Falcons & Tonga)

Tatafu Polota-Nau (Leicester & Australia)

Sateleki Timani (Clermont & Australia)

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys & Wales)

Loni Uhila (Clermont)

Flip van der Merwe (Clermont & South Africa)

Victor Vito (La Rochelle & New Zealand)