Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Premiership Rugby ‘A’ League fixtures announced

Fixtures in the new season’s Premiership Rugby ‘A’ League have been confirmed, with the Leicester Tigers Development XV facing an extended programme of 10 games in 2017/18.

The new format for 2017/18 provides Tigers with home-and-away fixtures against Newcastle Falcons, Northampton Saints, Sale Sharks, Wasps and Worcester Warriors. The remaining six Premiership clubs, plus Bristol, line up in the southern section.

The top two teams in the pools will progress to the semi-finals.

Tigers kick off the programme with a trip to Worcester during the week commencing September 4 and then go to Northampton before an opening home game against Wasps in the week of September 25.

There are three further rounds before Christmas, including home games against Worcester and Northampton, a New Year leg and then three more rounds in the run-in to the end of the campaign before the semi-finals and final scheduled for April.

Michele Rizzo, Will Evans, Harry Thacker and Logovi’i Mulipola were among the senior players to gain gametime in the ‘A’ League last season, when Tigers were denied a semi-final place by defeat in the last game against Worcester, while the tournament also provides an important stepping stone for younger players with Harry Simmons, Fred Tuilagi, Sam Lewis and Ben White all having their opportunities in 2016/17.

Admission to home games in the ‘A’ League is free to all Tigers season ticket holders. Tickets for all other supporters are available via the Tigers ticket office.

Look out for updates on kick-off dates and times in advance of the new season.