Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Pumas name team for Championship opener

Figure image
Marcos Ayerza will edge closer to a half-century of caps after being named in the starting-line for Argentina's opening game in the Rugby Championship against South Africa on Saturday.

Loosehead prop Ayerza moves to cap number 49 for the first game in the southern hemisphere’s international tournament.
Pablo Matera is also included in the starting line-up, named alongside Juan Manuel Leguizamón and Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe in the back row. Horacio Agulla, a former Tigers Player of the Year, is on the wing, with another ex-Tiger, Lucas Amorosino among the replacements.
Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo; 1 Marcos Ayerza, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 3 Ramiro Herrera, 4 Mariano Galarza, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 6 Pablo Matera, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamón.
Replacements: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Lucas González Amorosino