Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Pumas predict interesting test at Tigers

Figure image
Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade says the match against Leicester Tigers provides an "important test" in the build-up to the Rugby World Cup.Hourcade will lead Los Pumas against Tigers in the Marcos Ayerza Testimonial Challenge on Saturday, September 5 (3pm) in a final run-out before they open their World Cup campaign against the All Blacks.   Tigers prop Ayerza has been honoured at a series of events in his testimonial year, climaxing with his club and country going head to head at Welford Road.   “We all know the quality of Leicester and what it means to play against a team of this class, in a stadium like Welford Road,” said coach Hourcade.   “I imagine a very open game and each team defending its jersey.   “It will be an important game in our preparation, and also a celebration of rugby itself and a chance to honour Marcos.”   Argentina visited Welford Road in the build-up to the 2007 World Cup, where they finished third under Marcelo Loffreda, and will be looking to make a big impression this year.   Tickets for the Marcos Ayerza Testimonial Challenge and the return of international opposition to Welford Road are on sale now. Prices are £25 adult seating, £10 junior or £60 family (2 adults, 2 juniors), or £22/ £8/ £52 terrace.   Purchase in person at the Tigers Club Store at Welford Road (9am-5pm Monday-Saturday), phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) (8.30am-5pm Monday-Saturday) or click here to book online.   Please note the testimonial fixture is not included in Tigers season tickets. Argentina squad for Rugby World Cup 2015: Horacio Agulla, Matías Alemanno, Marcos Ayerza, Marcelo Bosch, Santiago Cordero, Agustín Creevy, Tomás Cubelli, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Matías Díaz, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, Lucas González Amorosino, Santiago González Iglesias, Juan Martín Hernández, Ramiro Herrera, Juan Imhoff, Facundo Isa, Martín Landajo, Tomás Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Pablo Matera, Julián Montoya, Matías Moroni, Lucas Noguera, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Nicolás Sánchez, Leonardo Senatore, Juan Pablo Socino, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Joaquín Tuculet, Mariano Galarza.