Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Scarratt receives rugby writers' top award

Figure image
World Cup winner Emily Scarratt was last night presented with the prestigious Pat Marshall Award as rugby's personality of the year.The Rugby Union Writers’ Club recognised her achievements in helping the England Women’s team to World Cup glory last year by awarding Scarratt their top gong at a gala dinner in central London.   Leicester Tigers fan Scarratt was selected from a shortlist that included her England Women’s captain Katy McLean, Ireland coach Joe Schmidt, All Blacks captain Richie McCaw and men’s 2003 World Cup winner Jonny Wilkinson.   Scarratt, from Desford, scored 16 points in the World Cup Final, including a match-turning second-half try. She finished the tournament as the top scorer with 70 points.   Scarratt joins the likes of Wilkinson, Brian O’Driscoll, Gareth Edwards, JPR Williams and Tigers legend Martin Johnson in receiving the award, and is the second woman to be honoured after England teammate Maggie Alphonsi in 2010. Wilkinson and O’Driscoll were awarded the RUWC’s Special Award to mark the end of their outstanding playing careers.