Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team news for North America Tests

Leicester Tigers-bound David Denton starts for Scotlandin the first Test of their summer tour against Canada in Edmonton on Sunday (kick-off 2am BST).

Denton, who will move to Welford Road this summer from Worcester Warriors, is named at No8 and will win his 40th international cap. The game is live on BBC One Scotland and the BBC Sport website.

Tigers back-rower Luke Hamilton is set to win his second cap after being named on the bench. Hamilton made his international debut for Scotland against New Zealand in their autumn fixture at Murrayfield.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend said: “We’ve arrived in Edmonton where we will be putting the finishing touches on our preparation and aim to put a marker down at the beginning of this three-Test tour, against a side which has, historically, been a very tough side for Scotland over the years – especially on home soil.”

The North American Tests against Canada on Saturday (kick-off 7pm, Sunday 2am BST time) and USA on Saturday, June 16 (kick-off 8pm, Sunday 2am BST) will be shown live on the BBC. Scotland’s final Test against Argentina on Saturday, June 23 (kick-off 4.40pm, 8.40pm BST) will be aired on Channel 4.

Meanwhile, Tigers prop Chris Baumann is named on the USA bench for their game against Russia in Denver on Saturday. Former Tigers winger Blaine Scully will captain the Eagles, who named ex-Tigers lock Greg Peterson among the replacements.

Scotland: 15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh, 2 caps), 14 Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors, 8 caps), 13 Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons, 2 caps), 12 James Lang (Harlequins, uncapped), 11 Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks, 3 caps), 10 Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors, 32 caps), 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Scarlets, 9 caps); 1 Allan Dell (Edinburgh, 10 caps), 2 Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors, 31 caps), 3 Simon Berghan (Edinburgh, 8 caps), 4 Ben Toolis (Edinburgh, 9 caps), 5 Grant Gilchrist (c) (Edinburgh, 22 caps), 6 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh, 2 caps), 7 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh, uncapped), 8 David Denton (Worcester Warriors, 39 caps)

Replacements: 16 George Turner (Glasgow Warriors, 2 caps), 17 Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors, 8 caps), 18 Murray McCallum (Edinburgh, 1 cap), 19 Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh, uncapped), 20 Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap), 21 Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors, 16 caps), 22 Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors, uncapped), 23 Mark Bennett (Edinburgh, 20 caps)

USA: 15 Will Hooley (Bedford Blues), 14 Blaine Scully (c) (Cardiff Blues), 13 Bryce Campbell (Glendale Raptors), 12 Paul Lasike (Utah Warriors), 11 Marcel Brache (Western Force), 10 AJ MacGinty (Sale Sharks), 9 Shaun Davies (Glendale Raptors); 8 Cam Dolan (San Diego Legion), 7 Hanco Germishuys (Austin Elite), 6 John Quill (Glendale Raptors), 5 Nick Civetta (Newcastle Falcons), 4 Samu Manoa (Toulon), 3 Paul Mullen (Houston SaberCats), 2 Joe Taufete'e (Worcester Warriors), 1 Eric Fry (Vannes Rugby)

Replacements: 16 James Hilterbrand (Manly Marlins), 17 Olive Kilifi (Seattle Seawolves), 18 Chris Baumann (Leicester Tigers), 19 Greg Peterson (Glasgow Warriors), 20 Ben Landry (Glendale Raptors), 21 Nate Augspurger (San Diego Legion), 22 Will Magie (Glendale Raptors), 23 Dylan Audsley (San Diego Legion)