Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Slater named skipper for England tour match

Figure image
Ed Slater will captain England against Super 15 side the Crusaders at AMI Stadium on Tuesday.

The lock, who led Leicester Tigers during the last third of the season, is among four uncapped players in the starting line-up.
Northampton Saints prop Alex Waller, Gloucester centre Henry Trinder and Bath wing Anthony Watson are the other players still to experience Test rugby.
Christchurch-born Michael Paterson, a former Crusader, is named on the replacements’ bench after his call-up to the squad last week.
England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “This is a really important match for us in terms of the development of our squad. We wanted this game to test ourselves against a top Super 15 side and, with a large squad out here, we are hoping to create opportunities for everyone to lay down a marker on this tour.
“We can see by how they have trained that they can’t wait to pull on an England shirt tomorrow.
“Ed Slater is a natural leader who has captained Leicester well and I am sure he will do the same with this England side.
“We are treating this like an additional Test and I know the Crusaders will be highly motivated to put in a good performance on the back of their Super 15 form.”
England will be supporting the rebuilding of Christchurch by wearing the Canterbury Rugby Earthquake Relief Charitable Trust logo on their shirts and donating 10 specially embroidered signed shirts to be auctioned off in aid of the fund.
England (v Crusaders, Tuesday, June 17, 7.35pm NZST/8.35am BST) 
15 Alex Goode (Saracens)
14 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
13 Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby)
12 Brad Barritt (Saracens)  
11 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
10 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)  
1 Alex Waller (Northampton Saints)
2 Joe Gray (Harlequins)  
3 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)  
4 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)(c)
5 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)  
6 James Haskell (London Wasps)  
7 Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)
8 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)
16 David Ward (Harlequins)
17 Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
19 Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks)
20 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)  
21 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)  
22 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)  
23 Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors)