Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team News | Tigers side to face London Irish

Figure image

Steve Borthwick has named the Leicester Tigers matchday squad for the Gallagher Premiership Round 4 fixture against London Irish.

Club captain Ellis Genge starts at loosehead prop alongside Nic Dolly and Dan Cole in the front row.

Argentina captain Julián Montoya, who returned from international duty this week, is joined on the Leicester bench by Nephi Leatigaga and Joe Heyes as the front-row replacements.

Calum Green and Harry Wells are the starting locks, with fellow second-rower Eli Snyman named on the Tigers bench.

George Martin and Tommy Reffell are the starting flankers, with Hanro Liebenberg at No8 in an unchanged back row. 

After arriving at the club this week, South Africa international back-rower Marco van Staden is in line for his club debut after being included in the matchday squad for the first time. 

"London Irish are an incredibly dangerous side when they move the ball around"

Ben Youngs and George Ford start as half-backs, with Juan Pablo Socino named at inside-centre for his first starting appearance for the club.

Matt Scott returns to the matchday squad at outside centre to partner the Argentine in the Leicester midfield.

Nemani Nadolo and Harry Potter, who did not feature in the win over Saracens at Mattioli Woods Welford Road, are the wings and Freddie Steward starts at full-back.

Richard Wigglesworth, Freddie Burns and Guy Porter are the replacement backs.

Player/Coach Wigglesworth, if used, will make his first appearance of the 2021/22 campaign.

Previewing the game, Borthwick said: “London Irish are an incredibly dangerous side when they move the ball around and will present a big defensive challenge.

“They are averaging more than 25 points per game and have featured in high-scoring contests so far this season. 

“This matchday squad selected to represent Leicester Tigers on Saturday must deliver an 80-minute performance our supporters will be proud of against Irish.”

15 Freddie Steward [38]
14 Harry Potter [18]
13 Matt Scott [27]
12 Juan Pablo Socino [1]
11 Nemani Nadolo [18]
10 George Ford [108]
9 Ben Youngs [267]
1 Ellis Genge (c) [92]
2 Nic Dolly [5]
3 Dan Cole [267]
4 Harry Wells [127]
5 Calum Green [63]
6 George Martin [20]
7 Tommy Reffell [50]
8 Hanro Liebenberg (vc) [39]

16 Julián Montoya [6] *
17 Nephi Leatigaga [44]
18 Joe Heyes [73]
19 Eli Snyman [2]
20 Marco van Staden **
21 Richard Wigglesworth [15] *
22 Freddie Burns [78]
23 Guy Porter [20]

* denotes first appearance of 21/22 season
** denotes Leicester Tigers debut

London Irish: 15 Tom Parton, 14 Ben Loader, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Terrence Hepetema, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Nick Phipps, 1 Will Goodrick-Clarke, 2 Agustin Creevy, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 4 Steve Mafi, 5 Adam Coleman, 6 Matt Rogerson (c), 7 Ben Donnell, 8 Albert Tuisue.

Replacements: 16 Matt Cornish, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 George Nott, 21 Sean O’Brien, 22 Hugh O’Sullivan, 23 Benhard van Rensburg