Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Anglo-Welsh Cup Final

Figure image
Mike Williams and Peter Betham return to the Leicester Tigers starting line-up for the Anglo-Welsh Cup Final against Exeter Chiefs at The Twickenham Stoop on Sunday (3.00pm).  

England squad member Williams joins Harry Thacker and Lachlan McCaffrey in the Tigers back row in the only change among the forwards from the team that started the semi-final win at Saracens last weekend.
Betham replaces JP Pietersen on the wing in the only other change to the starting team.
There are changes among the replacements, which include club captain Tom Youngs and lock Dom Barrow alongside fly-half Owen Williams.
Matt Smith is in line to make a 200th first-team appearance for the club if he is called from the bench.
Assistant coach Geordan Murphy has led the Tigers team during the competition and said: “We’ve been consistent in our selection through the tournament. We’ve talked about looking for good performances and we’ve had some really good performances from young players to get us into this situation.
“The players have taken their chances when they have come along, they’ve been really committed and that’s what you want.”
Leicester Tigers (v Exeter Chiefs, The Twickenham Stoop, Sunday 3.00pm)
15 George Worth
14 Peter Betham
13 Mathew Tait (c)
12 Jack Roberts
11 Tom Brady
10 Freddie Burns
9 Jono Kitto
1 Ellis Genge
2 George McGuigan
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Harry Wells
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Mike Williams
7 Harry Thacker
8 Lachlan McCaffrey
16 Tom Youngs
17 Michele Rizzo
18 Greg Bateman
19 Dom Barrow
20 Luke Hamilton
21 Ben White
22 Owen Williams
23 Matt Smith
Exeter Chiefs:
15 Lachie Turner, 14 Matt Jess, 13 Max Bodilly, 12 Sam Hill, 11 James Short, 10 Joe Simmonds, 9 Jack Maunder; 1 Moray Low, 2 Shaun Malton, 3 Greg Holmes, 4 Ollie Atkins, 5 Damian Welch, 6 Dave Ewers, 7 Julian Salvi (c), 8 Sam Simmonds
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Billy Keast, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Tom Johnson, 21 Haydn Thomas, 22 Will Hooley, 23 Tom Hendrickson