Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers at London Irish

Figure image
Recent signings Tommy Bell and Jack Roberts are both included in the Leicester Tigers squad for Saturday's LV= Cup tie away to London Irish.

Bell, signed from Jersey earlier this month, starts at full-back while former Rotherham Titans centre Roberts is named among the replacements for the trip to the Madejski Stadium.
Scrum-half Sam Harrison has the honour of captaining the Tigers for the first time.
Tigers hand senior debuts to England Under-20 squad members Jake Farnworth and Charlie Beckett in the forward pack and to development squad fly-half Oli Bryant. Paul Grant, on loan from Nottingham, starts at No8.
The replacements include development squad back-rower Ed Milne and academy duo Joe Maksymiw and Charlie Thacker who have all gained Premiership ‘A’ League experience this season.
Richard Cockerill, Tigers director of rugby, said: “This tournament gives us an opportunity to have a look at some of our younger players in a competitive environment as part of their development. We’ll send a young side to London Irish but with some added experience from the likes of Sam Harrison, Robert Barbieri, Miles Benjamin, Adam Thompstone and Matt Smith.”
Kick-off on Saturday is at 3pm. This fixture is not scheduled for live TV coverage. You can keep up to date with updates from the match using the Tigers social media accounts and website.
Tigers will wear the club’s alternative orange kit at the Madejski Stadium.

This return to home turf for the historic match against the Barbarians on Tuesday (7.30pm). Tickets are available now (please note this game is not included in Tigers season tickets).

Book at the Tigers ticket office at Welford Road (open 8.30am-5pm weekdays and 9am-5pm Saturday), phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or click here to book online.

The next match in the LV= Cup is the home fixture against Sale Sharks next Sunday (3.15pm). This match is included in season tickets. Match tickets are also available now.
Leicester Tigers (v London Irish, Madejski Stadium, Saturday, 3pm)
15 Tommy Bell
14 Miles Benjamin
13 Matt Smith
12 Javiah Pohe
11 Adam Thompstone
10 Oli Bryant
9 Sam Harrison (c)
1 Tom Bristow
2 Jake Farnworth
3 Tiziano Pasquali
4 Harry Wells
5 Sebastian De Chaves
6 Charlie Beckett
7 Robert Barbieri
8 Paul Grant
16 Harry Thacker
17 Riccardo Brugnara
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Joe Maksymiw
20 Ed Milne
21 David Mele
22 Jack Roberts
23 Charlie Thacker

London Irish: 15 Topsy Ojo (captain), 14 Guy Armitage, 13 Eamonn Sheridan, 12 Eoin Griffin, 11 Cameron Cowell, 10 Myles Dorrian, 9 Darren Allinson; 1 Jamie Hagan, 2 Jimmy Stevens, 3 Leo Halavatau, 4 Dave Lyons, 5 Kieran Low, 6 Luke Narraway, 7 Conor Gilsenan, 8 Jebb Sinclair
Replacements: 16 Mike Mayhew, 17 Tom Smallbone, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Dan Leo, 20 Ollie Curry, 21 Connor Murphy, 22 Ross Neal, 23 Harry Lightfoot-Brown