Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers at Saracens

Figure image
Mathew Tait makes his first appearance of the season for Leicester Tigers in Saturday's Aviva Premiership Round 10 match away to Saracens.

Tigers make a first-ever trip to Allianz Park with Tait back in the No15 shirt after returning from an ankle injury which delayed his start to the season.

Director of rugby Richard Cockerill rotates his squad following two physical contests with Montpellier in the Heineken Cup and in line with the England Elite Player Squad agreement.

Matt Smith comes in at centre and Ryan Lamb starts at fly-half.

Boris Stankovich returns to the front row alongside Neil Briggs and Fraser Balmain, Ed Salter returns at lock and Argentina international Pablo Matera gains a first start in the back row.

Terrence Hepetema returns from injury to claim a place among the replacements.

Tigers will wear the white alternate kit at Saracens this weekend.

Leicester Tigers (v Saracens away, Saturday 3.15pm)
15 Mathew Tait
14 Niall Morris
13 Vereniki Goneva
12 Matt Smith
11 Miles Benjamin
10 Ryan Lamb
9 Ben Youngs
1 Boris Stankovich
2 Neil Briggs
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Ed Slater
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Pablo Matera
8 Jordan Crane (c)

16 Tom Youngs
17 Marcos Ayerza
18 Jérôme Schuster
19 Sebastian De Chaves
20 Thomas Waldrom
21 David Mélé
22 Terrence Hepetema
23 Adam Thompstone

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Chris Wyles, 11 Jack Wilson, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Richard Barrington, 2 Jamie George, 3 Matt Stevens, 4 Steve Borthwick (c), 5 Alastair Hargreaves, 6 Billy Vunipola, 7 Kelly Brown, 8 Ernst Joubert
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 James Johnston, 19 George Kruis, 20 Jackson Wray, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Charlie Hodgson, 23 Ben Ransom