Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers at Wasps

Figure image
Leicester Tigers welcome back club captain Ed Slater and prop Marcos Ayerza after injury for Saturday's Aviva Premiership Round 21 fixture away to Wasps.Slater is included in the matchday 23 for the first time this season after recovering from a long-term knee injury, with Ayerza also included among the replacements after missing the match against London Welsh in Round 20.   Dan Cole returns to the front row after being rested for the 38-17 win over Welsh and Geoff Parling is also back in the starting line-up.   Seremaia Bai starts alongside Mathew Tait in midfield and Vereniki Goneva returns after suspension. There is a place for Christian Loamanu among the replacements.   Director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “This is a huge game for both sides in front of a sell-out crowd. It’s a big occasion and we want our support right behind us.”   Tigers will wear the club’s alternate orange kit at the Ricoh Arena on Saturday.   BT Sport has live television coverage of this fixture, or stay in touch with the official Tigers website and social media outlets.   Leicester Tigers (v Wasps, away, Saturday 3.15pm) 15 Niall Morris 14 Adam Thompstone 13 Mathew Tait 12 Seremaia Bai 11 Vereneki Goneva 10 Freddie Burns 9 Ben Youngs (c) 1 Logovi’i Mulipola 2 Tom Youngs 3 Dan Cole 4 Brad Thorn 5 Graham Kitchener 6 Geoff Parling 7 Julian Salvi 8 Jordan Crane   Replacements 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini 17 Marcos Ayerza 18 Fraser Balmain 19 Ed Slater 20 Jamie Gibson 21 Sam Harrison 22 Tommy Bell 23 Christian Loamanu Wasps: 15 Andrea Masi, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Alapati Leiua, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Joe Simpson; 1 Matt Mullan, 2 Carlo Festuccia, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 4 James Gaskell, 5 Kearnan Myall, 6 Ashley Johnson, 7 James Haskell (c), 8 Nathan Hughes. Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Will Taylor, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Guy Thompson, 21 Charlie Davies, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Rob Miller