Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comConference & EventsContact UsHolland & Barrett

Team news: Tigers go to Harlequins

Toby Flood, Manu Tuilagi and Thomas Waldrom return to the Leicester Tigers line-up for Saturday's top-of-the-table clash with Aviva Premiership rivals Harlequins.

The international trio have been released from the England squad for this weekend and are recalled to club colours by Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

There is also a recall in the backline for Scott Hamilton, and Brett Deacon is named in the back row of the pack alongside Waldrom and Julian Salvi.

“We’ve had some tough battles with Harlequins in the last couple of seasons,” said Cockerill. “Results last week meant we went to the top of the table, but it means nothing at this stage. We still haven’t played as well as we can and we’re now into a key part of the season.”

Martin Castrogiovanni, Niall Morris and Steve Mafi are among the players unavailable due to injury this week. Tom Croft is rested and four players remain with the England squad – Tom Youngs, Ben Youngs, Geoff Parling and Dan Cole.

Kick-off at The Twickenham Stoop is at 5.15pm on Saturday and the match is covered live by Sky Sports.

Tigers will wear their alternative Baltic Blue kit this weekend.

Leicester Tigers (v Harlequins, away, Saturday 5.15pm)
15 Mathew Tait
14 Scott Hamilton
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi
12 Anthony Allen
11 Adam Thompstone
10 Toby Flood
9 Sam Harrison
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 Rob Hawkins
3 Logovi’i Mulipola
4 Louis Deacon (c)
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Brett Deacon
7 Julian Salvi
8 Thomas Waldrom

16 George Chuter
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Ed Slater
20 Jordan Crane
21 Micky Young
22 George Ford
23 Matt Smith

15 Ross Chisholm
14 Tom Williams
13 Matt Hopper
12 Jordan Turner-Hall
11 Ugo Monye
10 Nick Evans
9 Danny Care
1 Mark Lambert
2 Joe Gray
3 James Johnston
4 Nick Easter (c)
5 George Robson
6 Maurie Fa’asavalu
7 Luke Wallace
8 Tom Guest

16 Rob Buchanan
17 Darryl Marfo
18 Will Collier
19 Charlie Matthews
20 Joe Trayfoot
21 Jordan Burns
22 Ben Botica
23 George Lowe