Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Team news: Tigers versus Bath

Leicester Tigers will give league debuts to five summer signings in Sunday’s Aviva Premiership opener against Bath Rugby at Welford Road.

George Ford makes his first competitive appearance for the club since the 2013 Aviva Premiership Final and is joined in the starting line-up by Jonny May, Nick Malouf, Dominic Ryan and Sione Kalamafoni who will all run out in Tigers colours for the first time.

Another newcomer, fly-half Joe Ford, is named among the replacements.

Manu Tuilagi and Matt Toomua - who makes his Aviva Premiership debut - link up as the centre partnership after recovery from long-term injuries.

Head coach Matt O’Connor said: “We got everything that we wanted into pre-season, and there’s a good vibe in the group and fit bodies, which is important. The character of the group has never been in question and guys have genuinely put up their hands for selection.

“We’re excited by the new players we’ve brought in and having guys like Manu, Matt Toomua and Logo Mulipola back in place is good for us too.”

George McGuigan, Adam Thompstone and Mike Fitzgerald are among the players ruled out by injury this week.

Tickets for Sunday’s game are still available at the Tigers ticket office. Book in person, phone 0116 319 8888 (open 9.00am-5.00pm Monday-Saturday and from 9.00 am matchday). Or book online any time at www.leicestertigers.com/matchtickets.

Tigers launch the club’s ‘125 years at Welford Road’ commemorations with the free Tigers In The Park event with live entertainment and attractions from 11.00am up to kick-off on Sunday.

Leicester Tigers (v Bath Rugby, Welford Road, Sunday 3.00pm)

15 Telusa Veainu       

14 Nick Malouf

13 Manu Tuilagi         

12 Matt Toomua        

11 Jonny May

10 George Ford         

9 Ben Youngs

1 Ellis Genge  

2 Tom Youngs (c)      

3 Logovi’i Mulipola      

4 Dom Barrow

5 Graham Kitchener

6 Dominic Ryan         

7 Brendon O’Connor

8 Sione Kalamafoni   


16 Harry Thacker

17 Greg Bateman

18 Dan Cole   

19 Mike Williams

20 Luke Hamilton

21 Sam Harrison

22 Joe Ford

23 Mathew Tait

Bath Rugby

15 Anthony Watson

14 Semesa Rokoduguni

13 Jonathan Joseph 

12 Max Clark

11 Matt Banahan

10 Rhys Priestland

9 Chris Cook

1 Beno Obano

2 Tom Dunn

3 Kane Palma-Newport

4 Luke Charteris

5 Elliott Stooke

6 Matt Garvey (c)

7 Francois Louw

8 Taulupe Faletau


16 Jack Walker

17 Nick Auterac

18 Anthony Perenise

19 James Phillips

20 Paul Grant

21 Kahn Fotuali’i

22 Freddie Burns

23 Ben Tapuai