Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Gloucester

Figure image
Ed Slater hits a Premiership Rugby landmark with his 100th league appearance for Leicester Tigers in Saturday's home game against Gloucester Rugby (3.00pm).

Second-rower Slater joined the club in 2010, making his Tigers debut in the opening-day fixture against Northampton Saints, and served as club captain for two seasons up to 2016. He returns to the team this week following a two-week suspension.
Michele Rizzo starts his first Aviva Premiership fixture of the season and he is joined in the front row by club captain Tom Youngs and South Africa international Pat Cilliers.
Brendon O’Connor made his return from injury as a replacement in the Anglo-Welsh Cup match at Saracens last week and starts in the back row alongside Mike Fitzgerald and Luke Hamilton.
The replacements include internationals Maxime Mermoz and Ellis Genge, plus England squad member Mike Williams and Wales squad man Owen Williams.
Tickets for Saturday’s game are still available at the Tigers ticket office. Book in person, by phoning 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or online by clicking here.
Leicester Tigers (v Gloucester Rugby, Welford Road, Saturday 3.00pm)
15 Mathew Tait          
14 Adam Thompstone
13 Jack Roberts
12 Matt Smith
11 Tom Brady
10 Freddie Burns       
9 Jono Kitto
1 Michele Rizzo         
2 Tom Youngs (c)      
3 Pat Cilliers   
4 Ed Slater
5 Dom Barrow
6 Mike Fitzgerald
7 Brendon O’Connor
8 Luke Hamilton
16 George McGuigan
17 Ellis Genge
18 Greg Bateman
19 Mike Williams
20 Harry Thacker
21 Sam Harrison
22 Owen Williams
23 Maxime Mermoz 

Gloucester Rugby: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Andy Symons, 12 Billy Twelvetrees, 11 Henry Purdy; 10 Billy Burns, 9 Willi Heinz (c); 1 Josh Hohneck, 2 Richard Hibbard, 3 John Afoa; 4 Tom Savage, 5 Jeremy Thrush; 6 Lewis Ludlow, 7 Jacob Rowan, 8 Sione Kalamafoni
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Salesi Ma'afu, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Matt Kvesic, 21 Callum Braley, 22 James Hook, 23 Matt Scott