Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Harlequins

Figure image
World Cup trio Tom Youngs, Dan Cole and Vereniki Goneva return to the Leicester Tigers squad for Sunday's match against Harlequins, the opening home game of the Aviva Premiership season.Goneva comes in on the wing in the only change to the backline that started the win at London Irish in Round 1, while Youngs comes in at hooker. Cole is included among the replacements.   Sebastian de Chaves returns to the forward pack, with Mike Williams moving into the back row after starting at lock against Irish.   Owen Williams, who made his return from an eight-month injury absence last weekend, is again included among the replacements. Peter Betham, Mike Fitzgerald, Mike Williams and Lachlan McCaffrey are make their home debuts in league action, with Opeti Fonua and scrum-half Ben White also in line for a home debut.   Kick-off on Sunday is at 2pm and tickets are available now. Book in person at Welford Road, phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or online.   Sunday afternoon will also feature a Women’s Premiership match at Welford Road between Lichfield Ladies and Wasps Ladies at 4.15pm, and there will be live coverage of the World Cup semi-final between Argentina and Australia on the screens in the Final Whistle.   Leicester Tigers (v Harlequins, Welford Road, Sunday 2pm) 15 Mathew Tait (c)      14 Adam Thompstone 13 Peter Betham         12 Seremaia Bai         11 Vereniki Goneva    10 Tommy Bell 9 Sam Harrison 1 Logovi’i Mulipola      2 Tom Youngs            3 Fraser Balmain 4 Mike Fitzgerald 5 Sebastian de Chaves 6 Mike Williams 7 Tom Croft    8 Lachlan McCaffrey   Replacements 16 Harry Thacker 17 Riccardo Brugnara 18 Dan Cole    19 Laurence Pearce 20 Opeti Fonua           21 Ben White 22 Owen Williams 23 Matt Smith   Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 George Lowe, 12 Harry Sloan, 11 Charlie Walker, 10 Nick Evans (c), 9 Karl Dickson; 1 Mark Lambert, 2 Dave Ward, 3 Adam Jones, 4 James Horwill, 5 Sam Twomey, 6 Jack Clifford, 7 Luke Wallace, 8 Mat Luamanu. Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Charlie Matthews, 20 Nick Easter, 21 Danny Care, 22 Ben Botica, 23 Ollie Lindsay-Hague