Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Tigers versus Ulster

Figure image
Marcos Ayerza is recalled to the Leicester Tigers starting line-up for Saturday's European Rugby Champions Cup opener against Ulster Rugby at Welford Road (7.45pm).

Loosehead prop Ayerza made his first club appearance of the season as a second-half replacement last Friday at the conclusion of international duty with Argentina in the Rugby Championship and now returns to the front row alongside Leonardo Ghiraldini and Fraser Balmain.
The call-up for Ayerza is the only change to the team that started the win over Harlequins last weekend as Tigers return to home turf for the opening of the new European tournament.
Director of rugby Richard Cockerill said: “We’ve faced Ulster in recent seasons in Europe and know they are a very competitive team. The win last weekend was important for us but there is still work to do.
“There is nothing like the big European occasions in front of a big Welford Road crowd and this is another big day for the players and the supporters.”
Tigers will wear the club’s home colours for Saturday’s game.
Tickets are still available from the Tigers ticket office. Call in at Welford Road or phone 0116 319 8888 (option 2). The office is open until 5pm Friday and from 9am Saturday. Or click here to book online and collect tickets on the way into the game.
Leicester Tigers (v Ulster Rugby, Welford Road, Saturday 7.45pm)
15 Mathew Tait          
14 Blaine Scully         
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi          
12 Owen Williams
11 Vereniki Goneva   
10 Freddie Burns       
9 Ben Youngs (c)       
1 Marcos Ayerza       
2 Leonardo Ghiraldini 
3 Fraser Balmain
4 Brad Thorn  
5 Graham Kitchener
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane          
16 Harry Thacker
17 Michele Rizzo       
18 Tiziano Pasquali
19 Sebastian de Chaves
20 Robert Barbieri      
21 David Mele
22 Sam Harrison
23 Miles Benjamin

Ulster Rugby: 15 Louis Ludik; 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Craig Gilroy; 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Paul Marshall; 1 Andy Warwick, 2 Rory Best (c), 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 4 Lewis Stevenson, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Robbie Diack, 7 Chris Henry, 8 Nick Williams
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Callum Black, 18 Declan Fitzpatrick, 19 Clive Ross, 20 Roger Wilson, 21 Michael Heaney, 22 Stuart Olding, 23 Darren Cave.