Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Team news: Ulster v Tigers

Figure image
Leicester Tigers open their 17th European rugby season with a trip to face Ulster Rugby at Ravenhill in Belfast on Friday evening (8pm).

Director of rugby Richard Cockerill makes three changes to the starting line-up from last Saturday with Miles Benjamin called in on the wing, Dan Bowden at centre and Geoff Parling resuming his place in the second row.

Benjamin makes his Tigers debut after a successful return from injury and starts in place of Blaine Scully who took a heavy knock in the match against Northampton Saints last weekend. Bowden replaces Anthony Allen who has an ankle injury and Parling has recovered from injury to join Louis Deacon at lock with Graham Kitchener among the replacements.

Former Waratahs centre Terrence Hepetema receives a first call-up to the matchday squad and is named among the replacements.

Allen and Scully join Manu Tuilagi, Matt Smith, Tom Croft, Steve Mafi, Mathew Tait, Rob Hawkins, Ryan Lamb and Scott Hamilton on the sidelines this week, while Marcos Ayerza is still in Argentina.

Friday's match has already been declared a sell-out at Ravenhill. There is live coverage on Sky Sports 1.

Leicester Tigers (v Ulster Rugby, Ravenhill, Friday 8pm)
15 Niall Morris
14 Miles Benjamin
13 Vereniki Goneva
12 Dan Bowden
11 Adam Thompstone
10 Toby Flood (c)
9 Ben Youngs
1 Logovi’i Mulipola
2 Tom Youngs
3 Dan Cole
4 Louis Deacon
5 Geoff Parling
6 Ed Slater
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane

16 Neil Briggs
17 Boris Stankovich
18 Fraser Balmain
19 Graham Kitchener
20 Thomas Waldrom
21 David Mele
22 Owen Williams
23 Terrence Hepetema

Ulster Rugby
15 Jared Payne
14 Andrew Trimble
13 Darren Cave
12 Luke Marshall
11 Tommy Bowe
10 Paddy Jackson
9 Paul Marshall 
1 Tom Court
2 Rory Best
3 Declan Fitzpatrick
4 Johann Muller (c)
5 Dan Tuohy
6 Roger Wilson
7 Chris Henry 
8 Nick Williams 

16 Rob Herring
17 Callum Black
18 Ricky Lutton
19 Iain Henderson
20 Robbie Diack
21 Ruan Pienaar
22 Stuart Olding
23 Michael Allen