Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Teams news: Tigers at Saracens

Figure image
Leicester Tigers have named their team for the Aviva Premiership Rugby Round 19 fixture away to Saracens this Saturday.Richard Cockerill makes just two changes to the line-up that started the win over Exeter Chiefs in Round 18, with Niall Morris and Vereniki Goneva on the wings in place of Adam Thompstone, who is among the replacements, and the injured Miles Benjamin.   Graham Kitchener is included among the replacements after recovering from a foot injury and he joins internationals Leonardo Ghiraldini, Michele Rizzo and Logovi’i Mulipola on the Tigers bench.   Tigers have won their last five Aviva Premiership matches to move into the top four in the table, two points and two places behind Saturday’s hosts Saracens.   Director of rugby Cockerill said: “This is a really big game for both teams with just four rounds of fixtures left in the season.   “It is a tough place to go and Saracens are a consistently good team who come into this weekend on the back of a European Cup quarter-final win.   “But we’ve come into some form and we want to maintain that through to the end of the season and see where that takes us.”   Tigers will wear the club’s alternate orange kit at Allianz Park on Saturday.   This game is scheduled for live coverage on BT Sport, or keep in touch with the Tigers website and social media channels.   Leicester Tigers (v Saracens, away, Saturday 3.15pm) 15 Mathew Tait 14 Niall Morris 13 Matt Smith 12 Seremaia Bai 11 Vereniki Goneva 10 Freddie Burns 9 Ben Youngs (c) 1 Marcos Ayerza 2 Tom Youngs 3 Dan Cole 4 Sebastian De Chaves 5 Geoff Parling 6 Jamie Gibson 7 Julian Salvi 8 Jordan Crane   Replacements 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini 17 Michele Rizzo 18 Logovi’i Mulipola 19 Graham Kitchener 20 Laurence Pearce 21 Sam Harrison 22 Tommy Bell 23 Adam Thompstone Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Richard Wigglesworth; 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Petrus Du Plessis, 4 George Kruis, 5 Alistair Hargreaves (c), 6 Jackson Wray, 7 Kelly Brown, 8 Billy Vunipola. Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 James Johnston, 19 Maro Itoje, 20 Ernst Joubert, 21 Neil de Kock, 22 Duncan Taylor, 23 David Strettle