Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Tigers trio named for England v Wales

Figure image
The Leicester Tigers trio of Dan Cole, Ben Youngs and Tom Youngs have been selected by England for Saturday's Rugby World Cup Pool A game against Wales at Twickenham Stadium.Cole and Tom Youngs line up in an unchanged front row, with Joe Marler (Harlequins) selected at loosehead prop.   Ben Youngs forms a new half-back partnership with Owen Farrell, who takes over from George Ford at fly-half. Ford moves to the bench.   Sam Burgess makes his first start of the Rugby World Cup, replacing the injured Jonathan Joseph in midfield. Brad Barritt moves to outside centre in place of Joseph.   Billy Vunipola (Saracens) comes in at No 8 for Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) who is struggling with a knee injury.   James Haskell (Wasps) and Alex Goode (Saracens) are both included in the 23 for the first time in RWC 2015, covering back row and the back three respectively   England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "The support at Twickenham last week was incredible with the crowd really getting behind us and we will need them again this week to lift the players against a tough Wales team." As part of the Tigers World Cup events, we'll have big-screen coverage in Final Whistle at Welford Road to allow supporters to come together and share an evening in rugby's biggest global event. Kick-off is at 8pm. The Final Whistle bar will be open for refreshments and food. Tickets are just £2 - refundable against refreshments - and available online and at the Tigers ticket office. A separate dinner event featuring a hot fork buffet in the company of Tigers duo Freddie Burns and Miles Benjamin, plus live entertainment from the Bridgend Male Voice Choir, has also been organised. Tickets for the dinner event are £25 adults, £10 juniors for season ticket holders, and £30/£15 for all other supporters, and bookings are still being taken. Book for the Final Whistle or dinner event at the Tigers ticket office at Welford Road, phone 0116 319 8888 or book online at www.leicestertigers.com/worldcup.   England (v Wales, Twickenham Stadium, 8pm BST, Saturday, September 26, 2015) 15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 40 caps) 14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 12 caps) 13 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 24 caps) 12 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 3 caps) 11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 17 caps) 10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 32 caps) 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 50 caps) 1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 34 caps) 2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 25 caps) 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps) 4 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps) 5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 41 caps) 6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 39 caps) 7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 40 caps) 8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 20 caps)   Replacements 16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 14 caps) 17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 24 caps) 18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 13 caps) 19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 25 caps) 20 James Haskell (Wasps, 60 caps) 21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 24 caps) 22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 14 caps) 23 Alex Goode (Saracens, 18 caps)