Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers trio named to face Scotland

Dan Cole, George Ford and Jonny May will start for England in Saturday’s NatWest 6 Nations game against Scotland at Murrayfield (4.45pm).

Head coach Eddie Jones has made one change to his starting line-up, with the Leicester Tigers trio all retaining their places from the first two games of the championship.

Nathan Hughes comes in at No , while his Wasps team-mate Joe Launchbury will play in his 50th game for England having made his debut for his country against Fiji in 2012.

Dylan Hartley will become England’s second most-capped player when he runs out for the 92nd time. Hartley will pass Jonny Wilkinson (91 caps) and will sit behind only Jason Leonard (114).

Joe Marler (Harlequins) is named among the replacements on his return from suspension.

Jones said: “We are really excited about this game and we will need to be very tough and relentless in our defence to keep the pressure on this Scottish team.

“They are renowned for their attack so we will need to put pressure on them, create opportunities through our defence for our attack, and convert those opportunities to points.

“Our preparation over the last two weeks has been important in that it has allowed us to regenerate the players, improve the fitness of some and to get a clear understanding on how we will play this weekend.

Team to play Scotland
Starting 15

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 66 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 30 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 37 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 55 caps)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 31 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 42 caps)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins 78 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 46 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 91 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 79 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 49 caps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens 16 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 63 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 61 caps)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 12 caps)
16 Jamie George (Saracens 22 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 53 caps)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 7 caps)
19 George Kruis (Saracens 23 caps)
20 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 5 caps)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens 28 caps)
22 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 10 caps)
23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs 25 caps)