Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers trio retained by England for Welsh challenge

The Leicester Tigers trio of Dan Cole, George Ford and Jonny May have been retained by England head coach Eddie Jones in a 25-man squad announced on Wednesday evening for their Six Nations fixture against Wales on Saturday (February 10) at Twickenham.

Aiming to be the first nation to win three consecutive Six Nations titles, England opened the 2018 tournament with a 46-15 victory over Italy last Sunday in Rome.

Ben Youngs has not been named after the Tigers scrum-half was carried from the field with a knee-injury in the opening half of the win over the Azzurri. 

Youngs is expected to miss four months after scans confirmed he had ruptured his MCL in his left knee and, after meeting with a surgeon this week, it was announced on Wednesday evening's BBC Radio Leicester's Tigers Rugby Show by head coach Matt O'Connor that the Leicester No.9 would not require surgery on the injury.

O'Connor said the initial diagnosis had shown it was a "12-16 week injury" for Youngs.

Saracens scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth was called in to the squad in Youngs' absence.

England Squad:

Mike Brown (Harlequins), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)