Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tigers v Saracens team news

Logovi’i Mulipola returns to the Leicester Tigers starting XV for the Christmas Eve fixture against Saracens at Welford Road (3pm kick-off).

Mulipola comes in at loosehead prop in the only change to the starting team from the side that played against Munster in the Champions Cup. He replaces Kyle Traynor, who moves to the bench.

Harry Wells comes in for Dom Barrow on the bench in the only other change to the matchday 23.

Head coach Matt O’Connor said: “We did a lot of good things against Munster last weekend and moving back into the Premiership over the next couple of weeks, that will put us in good stead.

“Saracens have been through the rigours of Europe too, so they are going to be battle-hardened and ready. We need to make sure that we make a couple of refinements in our game and that we put out a performance that is good enough to win the game.”

Welford Road will welcome the biggest crowd of the season so far for Sunday’s game against Saracens.

More than 23,500 tickets have already been sold for the Aviva Premiership clash and fans are encouraged to book their place early to avoid disappointment.

Call the Tigers ticket office on 0116 319 8888 (option 2), visit the Tigers store at Highcross shopping centre or book online.

Leicester Tigers (v Saracens, Welford Road, Christmas Eve 3pm)

15 Mathew Tait

14 Adam Thompstone

13 Manu Tuilagi

12 Matt Toomua

11 Jonny May

10 George Ford

9 Ben Youngs

1 Logovi’i Mulipola

2 Tom Youngs (c)

3 Dan Cole

4 Mike Fitzgerald

5 Graham Kitchener

6 Valentino Mapapalangi

7 Mike Williams

8 Sione Kalamafoni


16 Tatafu Polota-Nau

17 Kyle Traynor

18 Chris Baumann

19 Harry Wells

20 Luke Hamilton

21 Sam Harrison

22 Joe Ford

23 Nick Malouf

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Alex Lozowski, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Spencer, 1 Mako Vunipola, 2 Jamie George, 3 Juan Figallo, 4 Will Skelton, 5 George Kruis, 6 Nick Isiekwe, 7 Calum Clark, 8 Jackson Wray Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Tom Whiteley, 22 Nick Tompkins, 23 Nathan Earle