Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tino back in action in Premiership Shield

Valentino Mapapalangi and Campese Ma’afu are part of the Leicester Tigers team for the visit to Newcastle Falcons in the Premiership Shield this evening.

Back-rower Mapapalangi makes his first appearance of the season, while summer signing Ma’afu comes in to the front row for the second-team fixture at Kingston Park.

Matt Smith provides some experience in the backline which also includes Joe Lane, Dan Lewis, Rob Povey, James Neal and Will Flynn as guest players from Coventry RFC.

The matchday squad features eight players who have come through the academy ranks at the club, including Under-18 League winner Henri Lavin who is set to make his first appearance of the season among the replacements.

Leicester Tigers Development XV (v Newcastle Falcons, Kingston Park, Monday 7.45pm)

15 Joe Lane (Coventry)

14 Sam Aspland-Robinson

13 Rob Povey (Coventry)

12 Matt Smith

11 James Neal (Coventry)

10 Dan Lewis (Coventry)

9 Will Flynn (Coventry)

1 Campese Ma’afu

2 Jake Kerr

3 Facundo Gigena

4 Fred Tuilagi

5 Cameron Jordan

6 Thom Smith

7 Taylor Gough

8 Valentino Mapapalangi


16 Stefan Younghusband (Loughborough Students)

17 Sam Grahamslaw

18 Keston Lines

19 Scott Russell (Coventry)

20 Henri Lavin

21 Dave Brazier (Coventry)

22 Isaac McNulty (Coventry)

23 Louis Roach (Coventry)

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Tom Penny, 12 Pedro Bettencourt, 11 Ben Stevenson, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Sam Stuart; 1 Trevor Davison, 2 Jamie Blamire, 3 Paul Mullen, 4 Will Montgomery, 5 Glen Young, 6 Tom Marshall, 7 Simon Uzokwe, 8 Ryan Burrows (c)

Replacements: 16 Ali Johnson (Heriots), 17 Craig Mitchell, 18 David Wilson, 19 Rob Farrar, 20 Connor Collett, 21 Cameron Nordli-Kelemeti, 22 Guy Graham, 23 Charlie Wilson