Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Tuesday lunchtime draw for European knockouts

Figure image

The draw for the knockout stages of the Heineken Champions Cup and Challenge Cup tournaments will take place at noon UK time on Tuesday (March 9).

The event will be streamed live on www.heinekenchampionscup.com, beginning with the draws for the Round of 16 and quarter-finals of the European Challenge Cup, and followed immediately by draws for the Heineken Champions Cup at approximately 12.20pm.

Leicester Tigers are guaranteed a home draw in the Challenge Cup Round of 16 on the opening weekend in April after back-to-back victories over Brive and Bayonne in the preliminary stage before Christmas.

Following a decision by the EPCR Board in conjunction with its shareholder leagues and unions to revise the tournament formats after suspension due to the impact of Covid-19 earlier this year, draws are required to map out the knockout stages of this season’s tournaments.

Clubs from the same league – London Irish, Newcastle Falcons, Northampton Saints, Bath Rugby and Harlequins join Tigers in representing the Gallagher Premiership in the knockout stages – will be kept apart in the Round of 16 draw.

London Irish and Ospreys are the other two teams who will be guaranteed a home game in the last 16 after winning both of their opening fixtures.

The draws for the quarter-finals in both tournaments will be ‘open’, meaning clubs from the same league could be paired together.

In the Heineken Champions Cup Round of 16, there are five clubs – Racing 92, Bordeaux-Bègles, Leinster Rugby, Munster Rugby and Wasps – won both pool stage matches and will each be handed a home fixture in the Round of 16.

Knockout Stage Qualifiers

Heineken Champions Cup –
 Racing 92, Leinster Rugby, Wasps, Bordeaux-Bègles, Munster Rugby, Lyon, Toulouse, La Rochelle, Scarlets, ASM Clermont Auvergne, Bristol Bears, Exeter Chiefs, Edinburgh Rugby, Gloucester Rugby, RC Toulon, Sale Sharks

Challenge Cup – London Irish, Ospreys, Leicester Tigers, Cardiff Blues, Zebre Rugby Club, Agen, Benetton Rugby, Newcastle Falcons, Ulster Rugby, Connacht Rugby, Northampton Saints, Bath Rugby, Montpellier, Dragons, Harlequins, Glasgow Warriors