Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Under-20s reach Worlds final

Figure image
England will defend their title against New Zealand in the final of the World Rugby Under-20 Championship after a 28-20 win over South Africa in the semi-final at Stadio San Michele in Calvisano.Forward dominance and a relentless workrate earned England an 18-6 half-time lead with Rory Jennings kicking two penalties, before a James Chisholm try and a penalty try.   Leicester Tigers flanker Will Owen played his part in his fourth successive appearance of this championship.   England extended their lead with a Nick Tompkins score before South Africa mounted a late comeback, scoring two tries in the last 10 minutes. Head coach Jon Callard said: “I am so proud of the boys and how they played, particularly up front.  The South Africans are very big and physical, and we more than matched them, not just for size and heart, but for speed of thought and game management.    “I would consider this evening a proper game of Test football. “The players deserve credit for the way they responded after the France game. We now have the opportunity to continue the journey of developing as individuals and a team as we look forward to Saturday.”   Owen’s Leicester colleagues Charlie Beckett, Owen Hills and Oli Bryant are also part of the England squad at the Championships.   England Under-20s 15 Aaron Morris (Saracens) 14 George Perkins (Saracens) 13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens) 12 Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 11 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 10 Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 9 James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 1 Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 2 Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie)  3 Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 4 Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons) 5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, Captain) 6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton) 7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)   Replacements 16 Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs) for Walker (70 min) 17 Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) for Genge (60 min) 18 Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) for Hill (70 min) 19 Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) for Witty (60 min) 20 Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) for Chisholm (75 min) 21 Will Homer (Bath Rugby) for Mitchell (57 min) 22 Lloyd Evans (Gloucester) for Jennings (70 min) 23 Piers O’Conor (Wasps) for Perkins (75 min)