Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Vote now for Players of the Season

Figure image
Voting is now open for the Leicester Tigers Supporters Player of the Year awards.

A shortlist of nominations was announced this week in each category – Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and also the Outstanding Service Award – and presentations will be held at the Awards Night at Welford Road on Tuesday, April 30 in the company of the full Tigers squad.

Anthony Allen, Dan Cole, Niall Morris, Geoff Parling, Julian Salvi and Tom Youngs are the names on the shortlist for the Supporters’ Player of the Year Award.

The Young Player category is open to players aged under 23 at the start of the season and they’ll be hoping to follow in the footsteps of recent winners Steve Mafi and Manu Tuilagi.

There are three names nominated for the Newcomer Award.

Geordan Murphy, Lewis Moody and George Chuter are among recent recipients of the Outstanding Service award and this year the shortlist is dominated by members of the Tigers forward pack with nominations for Marcos Ayerza, Martin Castrogiovanni and Louis Deacon.

The Supporters’ Awards Night is one of the most eagerly-anticipated events of the season and there are now fewer than 100 tickets remaining on sale from the Tigers ticket office.

Tickets are £40 for season ticket holders, £50 for all other supporters, including a three-course dinner, seasonal highlights, interviews with coaches and players throughout the evening, and the award presentations. Dress code is smart. You might even win the opportunity to hand over an award to one of your Tigers favourites.

To place your vote in any category, click on this link and complete the form.

Voting for the Try of the Season takes place at the Awards Night event and the shortlist will be revealed soon.

2012/13 Awards Night nominations

Player of the Season
Anthony Allen
Dan Cole
Niall Morris
Geoff Parling
Julian Salvi
Tom Youngs

Young Player of the Season
Fraser Balmain
Sam Harrison
Graham Kitchener
Manu Tuilagi

Newcomer of the Year
Dan Bowden
Vereniki Goneva
Adam Thompstone

Outstanding Service Award
Marcos Ayerza
Martin Castrogiovanni
Louis Deacon

Recent Supporters’ Awards winners

Player of the Season: Johne Murphy
Young Player of the Season: Tom Croft
Newcomer of the Season: Ben Herring
Outstanding Service: Geordan Murphy
Try of the Season: Tom Varndell

Player of the Season: Aaron Mauger
Young Player of the Season: Matt Smith
Newcomer of the Season: Scott Hamilton
Outstanding Service: Ben Kay
Try of the Season: Julien Dupuy

Player of the Season: Scott Hamilton
Young Player of the Season: Ben Youngs
Newcomer of the Season: Geoff Parling
Outstanding Service: Lewis Moody
Try of the Season: Martin Castrogiovanni

Player of the Season: Thomas Waldrom
Young Player of the Season: Manu Tuilagi
Newcomer of the Season: Thomas Waldrom
Outstanding Service: Julian White
Try of the Season: Anthony Allen

Player of the Season: Horacio Agulla
Young Player of the Season: Steve Mafi
Newcomer of the Year: Julian Salvi
Outstanding Service: George Chuter
Try of the Season: Horacio Agulla