Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Welford Road welcomes county's sporting stars

Figure image
Leicester Tigers last night welcomed 450 sporting guests and their families and friends to Welford Road for the 2014 Leicester Mercury Sports Awards.The Premiership Suite in the MET-Rx Stand was the setting for a gala dinner and awards evening that recognised the achievements of Leicestershire and Rutland’s sportsmen, women and teams.   England Women’s centre Emily Scarratt was crowned Sportswoman of the Year after she starred in their Rugby World Cup success last year. It was a second gong of the week for Tigers fan Scarratt, who scored 16 points in the World Cup Final against Canada, after she won the Rugby Union Writers’ Club Pat Marshall Award on Monday.   Scarratt’s England teammate Vicky Fleetwood, a former pupil at John Cleveland College in Hinckley, was commended along with Commonwealth Games triple-jump silver medallist Laura Samuel and European cross-country champion Gemma Steel.   Paralympics discus thrower Dan Greaves, a guest of Tigers at Welford Road for this season's LV= Cup game against Sale Sharks, was Sportsman of the Year after winning Commonwealth and European gold. Greaves won the award ahead of snooker world champion Mark Selby and wheelchair tennis player Antony Cotterill.   Tigers’ neighbours Leicester City won team of the year after winning the Football League Championship and promotion to the Premier League. Their manager Nigel Pearson was named Coach of the Year.   Leicester Hockey Club and Leicester Cobras Wheelchair Basketball Club were commended in the Team of the Year while county coaches Jill Stidever and Trevor Low, from swimming and gymnastics respectively, were commended in Coach of the Year. Athletes Amy Griffiths and Panagiotis Mamuneas won the Young Sportswoman and Young Sportsman accolades, while Thomas Estley School’s under-13 girls football team were winners of the Under-19 Team section after lifting the national cup.   Tri-athlete Ben Dijkstra and cyclist Grace Garner were named winners of the Neville Hamilton Award and former snooker player Willie Thorne, now a commentator on the game, was handed the Lifetime Achievement award.   For more information on Welford Road’s conference and events facilities contact the team on (0116) 2171 280, email [email protected] or visit the website by clicking here