Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles
Rugby News

Wiese starts in Lions series decider

Figure image

Jasper Wiese will make his third Test appearance for South Africa in the series decider against the British & Irish Lions on Saturday.

Leicester Tigers back-rower Wiese started Springboks’ win last weekend  which tied the Castle Lager Lions Series and set up the winner-takes-all clash this week.

Head coach Jacques Nienaber made three changes to his starting team with Pieter-Steph du Toit and Faf de Klerk ruled out.

Franco Mostert moves from lock to flanker, Lood de Jager is promoted from the bench to the second row and Cobus Reinach comes in at srum-half.

“This group of players are among a handful in the history of South African rugby that have an opportunity to clinch a series against the Lions after winning the Rugby World Cup, and every player in this squad understands what a rare honour that is,” said Nienaber.

“I don’t think one needs any more motivation than that to win this weekend. This match is as important to us as it is for the Lions, so we know it is going to be tight, and we will have to capitalise on every opportunity we have to score points, and be effective in every area of our game.”

South Africa
15 Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz) 64 caps
14 Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse) 16 caps
13 Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks) 17 caps
12 Damian de Allende (Munster) 49 caps
11 Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks) 16 caps
10 Handré Pollard (Montpellier) 51 caps
9 Cobus Reinach (Montpellier) 15 caps
1 Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers) 50 caps
2 Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers) 39 caps
3 Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers) 41 caps
4 Eben Etzebeth (Toulon) 88 caps
5 Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks) 47 caps
6 Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks) 53 caps
7 Franco Mostert (Honda Heat) 42 caps
8 Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers) 2 caps

16 Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears) 36 caps
17 Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls) 45 caps
18 Vincent Koch (Saracens) 22 caps
19 Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls)4 caps
20 Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo) 9 caps
21 Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers) 13 caps
22 Morné Steyn (Vodacom Bulls) 66 caps
23 Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) 9 caps