Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Williams nominated for RPA Young Player award

Figure image
Leicester Tigers fly-half Owen Williams has been shortlisted for the LV= Young Player of the Year Award by Aviva Premiership players.

It is the latest award nomination for the 22-year-old, who was voted the players’ and supporters’ Young Player of the Year award at Leicester Tigers and was shortlisted in the Land Rover Discovery of the Year category at last week’s Aviva Premiership awards.
Williams is nominated with George Ford (Bath Rugby), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Billy Vunipola (Saracens) and Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby).
The winner will be announced at The RPA Computacenter Players’ Awards at Battersea Evolution on Wednesday.
Williams said: “I’m over the moon. I’m really thankful to my teammates for showing so much faith in me.
“It’s very supportive being nominated by other players, and feels very good to get their recognition. This season has been really good so far, it was unfortunate that we got knocked out of the Heineken Cup, but we have kept working hard and playing well.”
To qualify for the LV= Young Player of the Year Award players must have been 23 or under as of 1st September 2013.
LV= Young Player of the Year Award nominees:
George Ford – Bath Rugby
Joe Launchbury – London Wasps
Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs
Billy Vunipola – Saracens
Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby
Owen Williams – Leicester Tigers
Previous winners of the LV= Young Player of the Year:
2013: Christian Wade – London Wasps
2012: Owen Farrell – Saracens
2011: Manu Tuilagi – Leicester Tigers
2010: Ben Youngs – Leicester Tigers
2009: Ben Foden – Northampton Saints
2008: Danny Cipriani – London Wasps
2007: David Strettle – NEC Harlequins
2006: Tom Varndell – Leicester Tigers
2005: Harry Ellis – Leicester Tigers
2004: Olly Barkley – Bath Rugby
2003: James Forrester – Gloucester Rugby
2002: Charlie Hodgson – Sale Sharks
2001: Steve Borthwick – Bath Rugby
2000: Iain Balshaw – Bath Rugby
1999: Jonny Wilkinson – Newcastle Falcons