Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
leicestertigers.comMattioli Woods Welford RoadContact UsTopps Tiles

Youngs and Cole prepare for Fiji

Figure image
Leicester Tigers duo Ben Youngs and Dan Cole retain their places in England's team for the second match of the autumn's Old Mutual Wealth Series, against Fiji on Saturday.

England head coach Eddie Jones has selected Cole for his 67th cap and Youngs for a 63rd after both played their part in victory over South Africa in the series opener last week.
Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints) starts at flanker in the only change to the England pack which helped to seal a first victory over the Springboks in 10 years. In the backline, Jonathan Joseph (Bath) is named at outside centre with Elliot Daly (Wasps) moving to left wing. Alex Goode (Saracens) starts at full-back and there is a return for Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath) as he adds to his first cap won in 2014.
Uncapped second-row forward Charlie Ewels (Bath) is included in an England matchday squad for the first time and there is also a return among the replacements for Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs).
“Every Test match is an opportunity for us to keep improving and to increase the depth of the squad,” said Jones. 
“England at Twickenham is the game Fiji will have targeted on their tour. They are one of the iconic rugby nations and we respect them enormously. They bring flair and an unbridled enthusiasm to move the ball at pace. They’ll come to Twickenham with no fear and hungry to cause an upset.
“While we were satisfied with last week’s result against South Africa, there was plenty to improve on. We want a much more complete performance on Saturday. We want to be in total control of the game and tidy-up the things we didn’t do well enough last weekend.”
Live coverage from Twickenham is provided on Sky Sports 2.
England (v Fiji, Twickenham Stadium, Saturday 2.30pm)
15 Alex Goode (Saracens, 20 caps)
14 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 44 caps)
11 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 6 caps)
10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 27 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 62 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 36 caps)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 76 caps)(c)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 36 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 50 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 52 caps)
7 Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 30 caps)
16 Jamie George (Saracens, 9 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 43 caps)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 1 cap)
19 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 1 cap)
21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 63 caps)
22 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors, 1 cap)
23 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)